Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1986 F-150
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I joined to ask for your insight. I'm new to setting up valve spring height on the small block stock heads. I'm working with a set of E7s. How do you address the difference in valve stem cap length between intake and exhaust valves? Stock installed height on intake is a strait forward 1.77". The exhaust, without the rotator and using a standard retainer is only about 1.68". If one were to order a set of springs and matching retainers, you would be faced with how to get the exhaust spring installed height to 1.77".

- Dan, aka Digger

·
USAF retired
9,123 Posts
Comp and other sell offset valve keepers, + .050, -0.050. [email protected] can get you what you need, he's done a few I suspect. ;)

·
Registered
3,711 Posts
you need to play with locks, retainers And shims to get the correct height.

you need .100 so a + lock and retainer.

gets expensive to play like this and the reason most order a kit from Alex’s parts which takes into considerion the valve tip length.

·
Registered
770 Posts
I was told that once the engine has been run spring height will increase approximately .020" due to keepers being pulled tighter into the retainer. Well respected engine builder told me that, I've not personally verified it. I would imagine that the more spring pressure used would vary that, as well as retainer/keeper angle and material.

Jay

·
Registered
1986 F-150
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Thanks for the lead. I looked at the Flowtech Induction website but am not optimistic Of forty "kits", the floor is 154# seated pressure and the sky's the limit on rates. FTI obviously caters to the high performance market. Sent RFI to them anyway but feel like I'm probably wasting their time.