Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well this is my first time at trying to port. I know it`s rough ,but I have 2 GT40 intakes, upper and lower and figured why not try it on one and then do the other for my car so here is the first port before and after rough finish. Please any suggests are welcome as how to do it right.
measurements are
stock : 24.78
ported:26.79
stock: 43.31
ported: 47.03

Attachments

·
Registered
529 Posts
You should concentrate on #1 and #5 intake ports in the lower half. They flow the least and if you do nothing else porting these two out will net you better flow balance between cylinders. The engine will fell smoother and it makes sense to try to improve the worst ports then increase the ones that are not a restriction.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks

You should concentrate on #1 and #5 intake ports in the lower half. They flow the least and if you do nothing else porting these two out will net you better flow balance between cylinders. The engine will fell smoother and it makes sense to try to improve the worst ports then increase the ones that are not a restriction.
I am looking at everything and not going to ignore any advice given to me on here. This one is just a test of my skills and to fine hone them .

·
Registered
10,926 Posts
doesn't look too bad at all - how are you taking your measurements????

I have a porting guide you can find at EECTuning.org if you have not seen that - lots of other articles on porting there too...........

·
Registered
8 Posts
I have never tryed porting before but my last car I took the intakes off to paint and just did a port match and it seemed to make a world of difference. So if I were you while I was in there I would port match the upper to lower. Cant hurt.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks Tmoss

doesn't look too bad at all - how are you taking your measurements????